The One about The Blogger

My name is Lee Keegan, and I’m a pediatrician in Cedar Park, Texas.  I love my job!  I enjoy getting to know and caring for the families that entrust me with the health of their children.  I’ve been working with Cedar Park Pediatric and Family Medicine since 2010.  We are a group of 6 pediatricians and 3 family practitioners and we really enjoy our group’s ability to care for the whole family and be a part of our community.

I grew up here in the Austin area prior to my rebellious move to College Station to attend Texas A&M University.   There I took a wide array of science and liberal arts classes, and spent a semester studying abroad in Italy. I received a BS in psychology, and then went on to medical school at UT Southwestern in Dallas, Texas.  After completing my MD, I did my pediatric residency training at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee.  After just enough time in Nashville to develop a taste for sweet tea and southern food, I returned home to Texas.

My husband and I married in 2006 and love living in Austin.  We have two black labs that are full of energy and keep us active.  I enjoy the outdoors, hiking and running, experimenting with new recipes in the kitchen, burying my nose in a good book, and traveling to new and well-loved places.

I find the amount of information available at our fingertips today amazing!  Ask any question and you can instantly find an answer online.  Whether the answer is accurate and appropriate is a different story.  Medical information comes from so many different sources. We hear things from friends and family members, radio DJs, TV newscasters, and online everywhere.  All of the news websites report on new health studies, food and drug scares, how to lose weight, how to live longer, etc, etc.  And everyone has an opinion!  There are so many voices out there striving for our attention, sometimes it’s hard to know who to listen to.

In the office, I do my best to help my patients make sense of much of this information as well as provide information that is valuable and helpful.  Here I’d like to do the same.  My goal is to be a voice that can be trusted to provide accurate information and interpretation of that information for the health of your children and family.  I also plan to have my partners and other colleagues contribute content  that they find interesting and useful. In the process, I look forward to the opportunity to continually update my own knowledge and learn from you – patients, parents, and colleagues.  I welcome your feedback on topics discussed and things you’d like to know more about.

Leave a Reply

