The One About “Toddler Tested” Veggie Recipes

3.1.6-4.2.2-toddler-mealtime-tips-960x414I have received a few requests recently to share some recipes on my blog.  If you have read much of my blog, you know that we eat a lot of vegetables at my house.  Neither of us are vegetarian, but we typically don’t eat a lot of meat.  And I now have a toddler who is good at expressing her opinions about what she eats.  She declines broccoli even when there is cheese on it (she picks the cheese off one piece at a time), but loves Green Soup (broccoli and zucchini soup)!

Sometimes getting more vegetables in your toddler’s diet just takes a bit of creativity.  My daughter eats her veggies much better as part of a dish than on their own.  And let’s be honest, I like them best this way, too.

Here is one of the vegetable hits at my house:

Green Soup – this recipe came from Around my French Table by Dorie Greenspan (a cookbook that I love!)

1 head broccoli

1 zucchini

2 cubes chicken boullion

4 cups water

Heavy cream (optional)

Wash and chop vegetables into chunks.  Combine all ingredients in large pot and bring to a boil.  Cover mostly and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Puree with blender or food processor.

The original recipe has you whip a little cream with some coriander and do a small dollop on top.  I usually serve about 1tsp of cream swirled into each bowl.

We have found this recipe surprisingly delicious especially given its simplicity.  And probably best of all, my daughter declares “green soup, yummy!”

I have played with the amounts in this recipe, adding more water and bullion when I have had more vegetables to use.  I find it freezes and reheats well, also.

Enjoy!

About our Author: Dr. Lee Keegan is a full-time pediatrician at Cedar Park Pediatric & Family Medicine.  You can read her complete bio in the About section.

Leave a Reply

